PINK & YUMMY 30th Birthday!

July 1, 2013 at 5:09 pm 10 comments

Hi Everyone!! 

I have a blog post packed with pictures from my 30th birthday party last weekend.  Since a lot of them revolve around FOOD (of course), I thought it would be appropriate to share them with all of you here!

On the actual day of my birthday, I was having a hard time reconciling with the fact that I was beginning another decade, yet still feeling like I was not exactly where I hoped I’d be by 30.  However, on the day of my party, I felt SO surrounded by love and filled with gratitude…I almost couldn’t even take it all in.  I came away from that day knowing with certainty that regardless of what my own personal goals may have been, that God has blessed me a thousand times over in ways I could not have imagined.  To all of you who were there celebrating with me, you made more than just my day. <3

 

DSC00734

My brother and sister-in-law surprised me, and brought all the ingredients to make me a tiered watermelon birthday cake!!

IMG-20130622-00054

Now, this gift is extra special to me, because you see… Anthony hates fruit. (More like loathes it.  ALL types in ALL forms.  I know.  I’m not quite sure how we came out of the same womb, either.  But we did! :) And this was the FIRST time I’ve EVER seen him stand so close to anything fruit-related…much-less make it a gourmet masterpiece! Now that’s sibling love. <3  Love you, Ant.)  Anyhoo..this is him cutting up the base for the watermelon cake.

IMG953375

DSC00736

 

Here’s my little nephew puppy keeping me company in his sailor outfit before the party!

Everyone…meet Dexter!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mango flowers!! My favorite decoration of them all! :) YUM!

DSC00737

 

 

 

They bought edible orchids to use as a cake topper!! ..And then Angela cut a perfect strawberry heart for the center.  <3

 

 

 

DSC00738

DSC00739

 

 

Making some watermelon stars out of the leftovers…

 

 

 

 

 

Aren’t they cute little guys?!

 

 

 

DSC00740

Here is the finished product! (Well, minus the candles and singing. ;) )

 

DSC00743Now this is my spectacular “real” birthday cake! (As in, the kind with flour and sugar and stuff :) ) … As you know, I don’t eat things like this, but we wanted a traditional cake for our company, and we have a dear friend who makes AMAAAZING cakes!! Can you believe this?! Her name is Paula, and she can create just about anything you can imagine…and then some! (Check out her Facebook page here: Cakes By Paula)

 

DSC00744Pinkness, pinkness everywhere…!

DSC00742

 

DSC00741Now…Just when you thought 2 redunculously awesome cakes were enough, I got surprised with a third!! Paula researched and created a totally RAW BIRTHDAY CAKE just for me!!!

 

I can’t remember exactly everything she told me went into it, but it is a date & nut crust with a cashew-lemon-raw honey center, and a creamy raspberry icing on top!! It was beyond delicious. Even all the non raw-foodies around loved it!  

 

DSC00745This is one of the most perfect, me-ish gifts I have ever received…a mason jar drinking goblet!! :D Ahhh! How cool is that?! Anthony and Angela picked it up for me in the morning. He said he knew I never did anything like that when I was 21, so it was about time to have something fancy in which to drink my birthday tequila! (More on that below…hehe ;)  )

 

DSC00752Yep.  Those are pink hearts ALL over the inside of our backyard fence. It may be hard for you to picture if you’ve never seen my backyard, but there is a LOT of fence (Like…120 pink hearts-worth). And um…yep, we cut them all out ourselves! (Thanks Mom and AD!)

 

DSC00749Of course, no birthday party for me could be complete without lots of fruits and veggies (to complement the BBQ everyone was eating! LOL) …I made many of trays of vegetables and fruit and had fun arranging them all in different ways!

 

DSC00751I decided to put the vegetable dip inside some green bell peppers. Yum!

 

DSC00753And here you go… Pinkie (Thanks for the nickname, Peap.) testing out her mason jar goblet! Tres Generaciones Anejo tequila over ice with lots of fresh lime. Yes…silliness ensued soon afterward.  Turning 30 didn’t exactly improve my tolerance, haha. :) 

 

DSC00748And finally, here’s my little Dex enjoying the party from a shady spot under the tent. His Aunt Lis loves him! XO

Soo, there you have it! A birthday filled with blessings and love…and awesome food! :)  I love you all!!

<3 Lisa

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Smile Yourself Young! Lancaster Deliciousness!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  July 1, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    What a lovely yummy birthday celebration! Happy birthday!!

    Reply
  • 3. Larry durso  |  July 1, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Happy belated birthday

    Larry D

    Reply
  • 5. Keri Wilkes  |  July 1, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    Happy Birthday Lisa! You are such a wonderful person and you’ve told me how great your family is…I thought that is how all your days are! :)

    Reply
    • 6. Lisa Testa, M.S.  |  July 2, 2013 at 3:08 am

      :D Thanks Keri! They don’t all have watermelon birthday cakes, but they’re all blessed days, that’s for sure. How are you and the little baby-on-the-way feeling?

      Reply
  • 7. Mary :)  |  July 2, 2013 at 1:39 am

    Love all the pictures, Lisa. Thank you for sharing them! You looked beautiful!

    Reply
    • 8. Lisa Testa, M.S.  |  July 2, 2013 at 3:07 am

      Thank you, Mary! I loved having you there. <3 (And your flowers made a photo or 2! ;) )

      Reply
  • 9. alfiore409@gmail.com  |  July 2, 2013 at 11:41 am

    Happy Birthday to a wonderful young woman. May God bless you and may you continue to be surrounded with faith, family and friends.
    Love, The Balzofiore Family

    Reply
  • 10. Cathy  |  July 23, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    Lisa you look dazzling! Dex is adorable, reminds me of our dog Angel! Hope the birthday was great for a beautiful young lady!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lisa Testa, M.S.


My name is Lisa, and I am a holistic nutritional consultant in New Jersey. I created my business, Healthier You, in 2008, with the desire to share my knowledge and passion for healthy living with others in an innovative way!

To learn more about my business, please visit my website, www.HealthierYouLLC.com.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new Healthier You posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Healthier You on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

